Reading Fanatic Reviews

Romantic Fantasy

My Reviews at Amazon Weeks of March 29 and April 1, 2020

Some Favorite Books This Week!

I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here, especially now, as I have been working hard on trying to get my own book published on Amazon to help restaurants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

Historical Romance

Contemporary Romance

Nonfiction

Children’s

Thrillers

Speculative Fiction

Time Travel

Mystery

  •  Sauvignon Secrets by 

TBD

  •  

TBD

  •  

TBD

  •  

No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

My Reviews at Amazon Week of March 22, 2020

Some Favorite Books This Week!

I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

Historical Romance

Contemporary Romance

Nonfiction

Paranormal

Children’s

Family Drama

Speculative Fiction Romance

  • Savanna by Shelly Ferguson (a mermaid shifter fantasy I found confusing)
  • Once in a Black Moon by D. Lieber (complex time-travel, shifter, fae, magic fantasy love triangle) 

Games for Adults

TBD

  •  

TBD

  •  

TBD

  •  

No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

My Reviews at Amazon Week of March 15, 2019

Some Favorite Books This Week!

I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

Historical Romance

Contemporary Romance

Nonfiction

Speculative Fiction Romance

Children’s

Mysteries

Fantasy

Urban Fantasy

  • Fianna’s Rising by Ron C. Nieto (delightful blend of urban fantasy and Irish mythology)

Chick Lit

No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

My Reviews at Amazon Week of March 8, 2020

Some Favorite Books This Week!

I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

Historical Romance

Contemporary Romance

Nonfiction

Speculative Fiction

Children’s

Mystery/Suspense

Paranormal Romance

 

    No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

    My Reviews at Amazon Week of March 1, 2020

    Some Favorite Books This Week!

    I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

    Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

    Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

    Historical Romance

    Contemporary Romance

    Nonfiction

    Mystery/Suspense

    Family Drama

    • The Other Family by Loretta Nyhan (a divorcing mom struggles with a child’s undiagnosed disease)
    • The Last Bathing Beauty by Amy Sue Nathan (well-written story of could-have-beens and second chances, girlfriends and granddaughters)

    Speculative Fiction

    Children’s

    No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

    My Reviews at Amazon Week of February 23, 2020

    Some Favorite Books This Week!

    I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

    Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

    Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

    Historical Romance

    Contemporary Romance

    Nonfiction

    Cookbooks

    Mysteries

    Children’s

    Paranormal

     

    No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

    My Reviews at Amazon Week of February 16, 2020

    This is normally where I would have covers of some favorite books this week… but I had none. Some did make the naughty list, though. See below all the links!

    I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

    Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

    Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

    Historical Romance

    Contemporary Romance

    Nonfiction

    Time-Travel Romance

    Science Fiction

    Steampunk Romance

    Children’s

    Paranormal Romance

    Historical Fiction

    Cookbooks

     

    No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

    My Reviews at Amazon Week of February 9, 2020

    Some Favorite Books This Week!

    (See some not-so-favorite ones below the Amazon review links!)

    I’ve been having a tough time keeping up with both the reading AND posting here. While I get it all sorted out, I thought I could at least post the reviews here to Amazon, so you can read them there!

    Note: I am listing reviews as I do them each day. Sometimes, Amazon takes days or even a week or more to approve these reviews, so you will see a lag between when I list reviews and when a link is available. The longest I had to wait was 3.5 weeks!

    Hope that life becomes a little more sane soon!.

    Historical Romance

    Contemporary Romance

    Cookbooks

    Nonfiction

    Mysteries

    Fantasy/Supernatural

    Literary Fiction/Satire

    Paranormal

    Children’s

    No-So-Favorite Books This Week!

    A Drizzle of Murder by Constance Barker

    Universal Book Link

    Available at Amazon only
    Free with Kindle Unlimited

    A Drizzle of Murder*

    A Good Start to a New Cozy Mystery Series

    After romance, cozy mysteries are my favorite fiction genre to read. Even though I enjoy the more serious police shows on TV, when I read, I prefer a good cozy. This is the first book in a new series by an author I have not read before. This is a culinary mystery, and I always find these to be particularly fun. Luckily, this one was no exception. The murder takes place in a bakery; the man who helped the heroine move into her new bakery space is found dead. They had not gotten along so well during the move, so she is a likely suspect. Luckily, she has a variety of friends who try to help her figure out what actually happened.

    I did enjoy the quirky world created by this author. A good cozy needs to be quirky for sure and perhaps even wacky. I think this book fulfilled both requirements. There is a surprisingly large cast of characters in this book, and the heroine has a lot of friends. I will admit this was a little confusing at first, as we are introduced to many characters one after the other. Their speech patterns were not distinct enough to really help characterize them, so sometimes it was a little hard to follow and know who was who. I absolutely adored the older friends of the heroine; we don’t see enough active, older characters in contemporary fiction. The friends actually do have a big role in this novel as they try to help the heroine sort everything out. There were some definite issues with grammar, punctuation, and usage, enough to be distracting. Commas were problematic as were the hyphens needed for compound adjectives. The last may sound a little silly, but if they aren’t used properly, sometimes the meaning of a sentence is not clear, making you have to re-read to get the meaning.

    All in all, though, I thought that this was a good start for a new cozy mystery series. At least when I read the next one, I will have a better sense of the large cast of characters, which will be a help. Now, if the author could just get it professionally edited, that would be a big help for me, too!

    Italian Short Stories for Beginners and Intermediate Learners by Language Guru

    Universal Book Link

    Available at Amazon only
    Free with Kindle Unlimited

    Interested in another language besides Italian? Check out these other books in the series!

    Italian Short Stories for Beginners and Intermediate Learners*

    One Tool for Extensive Italian Language Learning

    I have read two other books in this series, and I believe these books would be of great help to anyone learning the particular language featured. They are surprisingly similar, as each short story in all the books is essentially the same—the first one about diet, the second about exercise, etc.–with small changes made for cultural differences. For instance, some of the food mentioned in the Italian first story is different than the ones in the Korean book.

    Before the short stories, there is a brief introductory section where the author discusses extensive vs. intensive learning (among other topics), stating that this book is meant to be used with extensive learning practices. In case you don’t know the difference, intensive learning is how we often learn a language in school, where we drill and drill on the basics and look up every word we don’t know. Extensive language learning is more volume driven; we are meant to expose ourselves to the language in a variety of ways, not fussing particularly over understanding every word or grammar concept. Both types of learning have their place. I think intensive learning is needed to get a basic grasp of the language, but then extensive learning can help you really get up to speed with fluency if you dedicate yourself to the process. This book does have some elements of intensive learning, as each book does have a vocabulary list as well as a full English translation of the story. But in the how to use this book chapter, the authors state that you can certainly just read the story first, though they do also recommend, alternatively, that you can start with a vocabulary list before reading the story. I’ve tested out both ways, and I find I prefer to read the vocabulary list first. I don’t try to memorize it, though (like I would in intensive learning). Rather, reviewing it just kind of gets me ready to approach the language.

    Also in the how to use this book chapter, the author discusses spaced repetition. But they don’t really say how to apply it to the stories. In fact, one of the first things they say in this chapter is that you should just read these stories once and once only. So how does spaced repetition fit in? I wish they had said.

    But the book is really about the stories. Each story section contains multiple parts: the story itself in Italian, a vocabulary list, a quiz in Italian, and the English translation of the story. I did find the vocabulary list helpful, as stated above, to help get me into an Italian language frame of mind as well as a reference. I wish it included some other words, particularly verbs and what the verb form means in terms of tense. And some words included in the vocabulary list are silly, as their English translation was very clear. I actually laughed when I saw the vocabulary list included pizza! Well, I don’t, you know, like to give spoilers for books, but let me state that the translation for the Italian word pizza is pizza! LOL. I hope I didn’t give too much away. 😉

    If you already have a solid basis in Italian and want to add to your vocabulary and ease of working with the language with an aim to increase your fluency, you may benefit from reading this book.

    I received a free copy of this book, but that did not affect my review.

    Archives

    Disclosure

    The asterisks (*) by the book title denote the source of the book copy.

    One star = I received it as a free advance/review copy or directly from the author.

    Two stars = I borrowed it through my Kindle Unlimited subscription.

    Three stars = I purchased the book outright (sometimes for free).

    The Amazon book links on this site are affiliate links, which means I make a tiny percentage if you choose to buy a book linked from this site.

    Used To Build My Websites

    Writing Improvement Software

    DreamHost

    Divi WordPress Theme

    Try Grammarly!Try Grammarly!

    Jamie's Profile

    Professional Reader

    Reviews Published

    25 Book Reviews

    %d bloggers like this: